Call for Posters

Malcolm Verdict Memorial Poster Contest

(sponsored by METCO Engineering)


Congratulations to our CATEE 2016 Winners!

Minjae Shin Medhi Azizkhari Gregory Ross Sukjoon Oh Sungkyun Jung Fatemah Shahsavari

First Place: Minjae Shin ($500)

Second Place: Medhi Azizkhani ($200)

Third Place: Sungkyun Jung, Sukjoon Oh, and Gregory Ross ($100 each)

People’s Choice Winner: Fatemeh Shahsavari


We invite you to submit a poster in one of the following areas:

  • Design, operation, construction and performance of buildings (residential or commercial)
  • Clean energy policy
  • Smart buildings, smart grid and information technology
  • Sustainable communities
  • Utilities
  • Energy codes and standards
  • Energy/Water Nexus
Eligibility and Rules

Posters will be accepted from undergraduate and graduate students. Up to 20 posters will be chosen for the competition. An abstract must be submitted for consideration in the poster competition by November 11th, 2016. The poster can include graphics, photographs, charts, and/or engaging text. The size of the poster should be no larger than 30” x 40 “. All posters must be original designs by their owner.

Posters must be submitted by December 1, 2016. You must submit your poster in PDF format via email to CATEE Conference Manager Angela Rowell at Each student that has a poster accepted for the conference will have their registration fee waived for Wednesday, December 21st. Additional instructions will be provided by email to all those whom participate in the competition. All accepted poster PDFs will be printed/mounted by ESL for the competition. Please contact Ms. Betin Santos, CATEE Executive Director, at or 832-630-3126 for questions about the competition.


All posters will be displayed throughout the conference and will be peer reviewed by the CATEE Steering Committee. There will be a poster session on Wednesday, December 21, 2016 where students will present their work to attendees. There will be multiple student poster awards totaling $1,000, with the 1st place prize valued at $500! You must be present at the awards luncheon on Wednesday, December 21st, 2016 to win.

Click here to view the Call for Posters flyer.

2016 marked the passing of ESL employee, and longtime energy efficiency advocate, Malcolm Verdict, and the birth of a memorial poster contest in his honor.

Moving to Austin, Texas in 1978, Malcolm served in various energy policy capacities under two Republican governors in Texas, the honorable William P. Clements and the honorable George W. Bush.  While serving at the Governor’s Energy Management Center (now the State Energy Conservation Office), he played a central role in establishing the LOANStar revolving loan fund which is still funding energy efficiency retrofits in Texas public buildings more than 25 years later.  He was also the primary advocate within the energy management office for funding the Energy Systems Laboratory’s work that ultimately led to creation of the International Performance Measurement and Verification Protocol, and to the development of the procedures that are now practiced internationally as Retro-Commissioning or Existing Building Commissioning.  While serving under two governors, and at TEES until his passing, he assisted in enacting state and federal legislation that helped fund and regulate renewable and sustainable energy policies. He received numerous state and federal awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Association of Energy Engineers.

  • Host

    • Energy Systems Laboratory